Tuesday, July 3, 2018
Day 2: San giorgio - Chioggia
Luckily, Denis woke up before me since my alarm clock was not set to ring on any day. After a must smothee and coffee, it was time for the most annoying thing: packing and setting up the bike. If you forget to put an item in the bag, it means it has to go on top...whch is a much more reliable and safe strategy.
Bike set, me set, and off we go for another joy ride day. Upon a suggestion from Dennis, I took the less busy of the roads La Jesolana, that took me all the way to Punta Sabbione.
There is no way I will ever forget the eye hunger that was killing me once I set foot in a Coop at Jesolo - I spent a shopping fortune, but my eyes were way more hungry that what I actually needed. After lunch and a loooong coffee break, the path resumed. It must be mentioned that even tough La Jesolana is a less busy from trucks road, one must still be careful because there is not too much room to pass and feel safe. In the end, before la Punta, the road has a side for cyclers that I do not reccommend since it is fairly bumpy and one must slow down on intersection.
But we made it, and hitting stop alla Punta was a relief ;).
But if you think you are done...I am telling you...its a joke. I got myself a ticket to Chioggia which is fairly expensive since one must take 3 boats and pay for the bike as well. A bit over 20 EUR did the trick...once at Lido, 2 things happened: they sait to cycle to the next boat for 10 km and considering the heat and the km already done, was not something I wantwd to hear. But the day got bettwr fast, since a cs host gave a positive reply who I met at the Bagni Miki.
There is something to must see on the way: venice laguna and a marvolous wild beach at the second island.
As my host is a volleyball fereak, i met him at the sand courts of this long lasting sandy area of Sottomarina. Area fairly well organized and clean, making visitor feel they put their money to use to enjoy the sun and the sea.
I set and I thought to play beach volley, but considering the past 100 km, it did not sound as such a great idea... so I waited for them to finish and me enjoying the endorfine bike feelings ;)
What a host I must say.. he made dinner..pasta of cours which leftovers I used the next day. After joking around the 2:0 score in favour of the Japanise (something that just does not fit), have waited for the game to finish...they lost in the last minute...poor guys, it looked so optimistict for them.
As we turist are normally ignorant of the hidden paths, we took a joy ride (like I have not had enough yet) aroubd Chioggia. Once on a bike, you realize that the locals are all on bikes...well, on e-bikes and the city has a marvoulus cycling path all around Chioggia.
There are 2 things to do in Chioggia: take a bike and eat an ice yougurt ;)
Till latet....the road is calling!!! Path update later.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment